Connor Boyd  –  Augsburg College  2011-2015

In which country, state, city… do you live now? Seattle, WA

Why did you decide to live there? My boyfriend and I moved in order to try something new and start ourselves on a new adventure.

What are you doing for work now? I work in the Marketing and Communications department at SBI Associations Management.

If you have a significant other, please tell us about him or her.  My boyfriend and I were in a long distance relationship for 1.5 years while in school. When we both graduated we decided to move to Seattle and finally share our life.

Do you still have family and friends in the Roaring Fork Valley? My parents still live in Aspen. Both came from other states and they never expected me to stay forever. While it is a beautiful place and I am so fortunate to have grown up there I knew there was plenty more to explore outside the valley.  That is one of the reasons I headed to Minnesota for school.

Where and when did you graduate from college? Augsburg College in Minneapolis MN I also studied abroad at Queen Mary University in East London. (Which was easier to do with the financial aid from Trashmasters)

What did you study in college? I double majored in Communications and Film Studies. I attended a liberal arts school to really explore the world and had the opportunity to take plenty of amazing classes along side the course required for my majors. Classes like medieval studies, the sociology of sexuality, Scandinavian art history, and more.

Which degrees have you achieved? Bacholar of Art in Film and Communication.

Are you still working toward a certification or degree? I am considering getting a masters degree in marketing in a year or two.

What’s an important lesson you learned from your schooling?  To never stop learning.

What do you like to do in your spare time and why? I am working with a friend to help her start her own business. We are working on marketing strategies and I am building her a website. I also love to hike and be outdoors (that comes from my Colorado roots) I also love being in a city and taking in  new art, films, culture, and FOOD. Lastly, travel is a passion of mine but I need to make a little more money before I can fully realize all of my travel dreams.

Tell us about your favorite place or experience. I don’t know that I have a favorite. The best part about places and experiences is the memories you get to keep and the things you get to learn.

What are your plans (or dreams) for the future? Well my job is fairly new so I am hoping to really see how I can grow in this new position and see where it will take me.

Is there anything we can do to support you or your cause? That is so kind. You have already done so much to help me get where I am.