Nuala Del Piccolo –  Johns Hopkins University  2008-2012

In which country, state, city… do you live now? Davis, CA USA

Why did you decide to live there? I received a job offer there

What are you doing for work now? Postdoctoral Scholar

If you have a significant other, please tell us about him or her.  n/a

Do you have kids? Please share their names and ages. n/a

Do you still have family and friends in the Roaring Fork Valley? My parents and some high school friends still live in the valley

Where and when did you graduate from college? Johns Hopkins University, Class of 2012

What did you study in college? Biomedical Engineering with a minor in Mathematics

Which degrees have you achieved? Doctor of Philosophy in Materials Science and Engineering, Master of Science in Materials Science and Engineering, Bachelor of Science in Biomedical Engineering

Are you still working toward a certification or degree? no

What’s an important lesson you learned from your schooling?  My education taught me to approach everything with an open mind and to embrace learning as a lifelong pursuit.

What do you like to do in your spare time and why? In my free time, I enjoy outdoor activities of any kind, especially running, skiing, and hiking. I never lost the love of the outdoors that I developed growing up in the Roaring Fork Valley.

What are your plans (or dreams) for the future? I plan to use my degrees in the biotechnology industry, to improve therapies for diseases that are currently difficult to treat.

Is there anything we can do to support you or your cause?  The scholarship support I received from the Trashmasters made a big difference for me during college and helped me get to where I am today.